Called By His Name

http:::www.freedigitalphotos.net:images:Business_people_g201-Delegate_Badge_p67791.htmlDo you know the meaning of your name? If so, can you share it? Do you like your name? Why or why not?

2 Chron 7:14 “If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.”

God never just says something. He’s always trying to take us somewhere, to teach us something.

In this passage, He’s calling them His people, called by ‘My’ name. He’s not saying, the Jews or the Hebrews. He’s saying, ‘Called by My Name.’

At the burning bush, God told Moses to go, not with an army or some great military force behind him, but to tell Pharaoh, ‘Let my people go.’

Moses said, ‘Who shall I say sent me?’ God answered, ‘I am that I am. Tell them I AM sent you.’ It’s really very simple. ‘He is.’ In the Old Testament in reference to God, they would say, ‘He is,’ that simple, ‘the eternal, self-existent one.’ He has no beginning or ending. He is the eternal One.

The Jews called Him ‘He Is my Healer,’ ‘He Is my Banner,’ ‘He Is my Provider,’ (Jehovah-Jirah, etc).  They referred to God concerning His attributes, His deeds. They didn’t have a personal Name that specifically identified Him.

Isa 52:6 “Therefore my people shall know my name: therefore they shall know in that day that I am he that doth speak: behold, it is I.”

God didn’t want them to know Him only by His power or His attributes or His blessings. He wanted them to know Him in a personal way.

Names matter to God.

Isa 9:6 “For unto us a child is born, unto us a son is given: and the government shall be upon his shoulder: and his name shall be called Wonderful, Counsellor, The mighty God, The everlasting Father, The Prince of Peace.”

Phil 2:9-11 “Wherefore God also hath highly exalted him, and given him a name which is above every name: 10 That at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, of things in heaven, and things in earth, and things under the earth; 11 And that every tongue should confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.”

There is nothing more powerful than that name of Jesus! There is no weapon that can stand against Him. The only thing, the mightiest thing there is Jesus. Anything that opposes the will of God will fall at the name of Jesus.

Yeshua (Greek) literally means, ‘He Is my Salvation.’

Acts 4:12 “Neither is there salvation in any other: for there is none other name under heaven given among men, whereby we must be saved.”

John 14:14 “If ye shall ask any thing in my name, I will do it.”

Acts 3:6 “Then Peter said, Silver and gold have I none; but such as I have give I thee: In the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth rise up and walk.”

Apostolic believers know the One-Who-Made-All-Things hears you when you cry out to Him. He answers prayers.

Rev 3:8 “I know thy works: behold, I have set before thee an open door, and no man can shut it: for thou hast a little strength, and hast kept my word, and hast not denied my name.”

Today, there is an attack, not on faith, not on religion, not on believing in a god. There is an attack targeted at the name of Jesus.

There is so much today that compromises and calls for conforming. The gospel of Jesus Christ is confrontational. It not only calls for change, it makes that change possible.

  1. What difference does it make to know someone by name, not just knowing about them, but knowing them on a personal level? (As in being able to call the president by his first name)
  2. Why do you think the name of Jesus is so controversial?
  3. Can you tell of a time when calling on Jesus by His name changed your life?
  4. How do you call on Jesus’ Name? (How do you walk in His authority in your own life?)

For further study see Acts 19:13-17

This Bible study excerpted from a sermon preached by Skip Christo.

For the full YouTube audio/video, click here.

If you are looking for an Apostolic Pentecostal church and are in the Chicagoland area, come check out The Life Church located at 3030 Central Road in Glenview, IL. Services are Sundays at 1pm and Wednesdays at 7pm. We would love to see you there!

www.thelifechurchofglenview.org

About ChristinaLi

Christina Li, BA, MA, is a wife, mother of five, journalist, and author. She believes life is an adventure and has seen first hand the miraculous that happens when you say 'yes' to God. Besides writing, she loves tea, black, green, or white, and coffee, fresh roasted by her wonderful husband. Check out her books at: amazon.com/author/christinali
This entry was posted in Excerpts from sermons by Skip Christo, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

