Perception in the Storm

clinton-naik-176636Psalm 34:1-2 “I will bless the Lord at all times: his praise shall continually be in my mouth. 2 My soul shall make her boast in the Lord: the humble shall hear thereof, and be glad.”

I’ve read that verse so many times, but is His praise continually in my mouth? Do I trust Jesus in the midst of a storm? Do you?

Pastor answers the question, What do you do in the storms of life? “See the Lord as bigger. Take a magnifying glass and change your perception. God doesn’t get bigger, you just see Him differently. Bless Him!”

“How do you see God? There are only two ways to make God bigger. He doesn’t change. He’s immutable. You can’t change God. The will of God is the will of God. You can’t control Him. In order to magnify Him, you can only change your perception of Him and change your perception of yourself.”

John the Baptist said, ‘He must increase and I must decrease.’ I always thought that meant that he knew his followers would leave him to follow Jesus and that he would die. John’s whole job was to announce the coming of Jesus, after all. Yet, that verse means a whole lot more than that.

Am I willing to decrease myself in order to see God’s greatness? Am I willing to surrender my feeble attempts at control? Things may not turn out the way I want, the way I will, but is God my God, or not? If He is, then I must surrender to His will and His way.

How much do you trust Him? Enough to stop worrying about your current situation? Just how great is your God?

Pastor says, “Worship and praise can only flow from your perception of His greatness. Praise is more than hype and stress relief and feeling, especially to those who are ‘going through it.’ The Lord is great and greatly to be praised. He fills all time and space. He Is. I AM. He is He that was and is and is to come. He is from everlasting to everlasting. He is not confined to time like we are. He can reach into your past and wipe away all your mistakes. He is the fulfilling of all time.”

2 Chron 6:18 “But will God in very deed dwell with men on the earth? behold, heaven and the heaven of heavens cannot contain thee; how much less this house which I have built!”

The universe does not contain God, God contains the universe. Sometimes, it’s easy to see how big He is, but not how personal He is. He is a personal God. What’s so special about you that God would forget about you?”

I never thought of it that way. If God is truly Who He says He Is, then He won’t forget about me. He can’t.

1 Chron 16:25 “For great is the Lord, and greatly to be praised: he also is to be feared above all gods.”

Pastor says, “God is God all the time. God doesn’t need you to proclaim Him as God. He is worthy whether you praise Him or not. God doesn’t know another god. ‘Praise Him for His mighty acts. Praise Him according to His excellent greatness,’ Psalm 150:2. He is not a petty deity. Nothing cruel or shallow can be found in Him. Your worship should be infinite because He is infinite. He is to be feared or respected above all gods. Nothing and no-one else can possibly compare. Jesus is our God and no-one can compare! Holy fear is the beginning of wisdom.”

1 John 3:20 “For if our heart condemn us, God is greater than our heart, and knoweth all things.”

The Lord’s plan is greater than your pain. Suffering is not designed to destroy you. It is designed to develop you. God trusted Job with suffering. Job said a lot of stuff, but he never rebuked the devil. Why not change your perception? Suffering is not greater than God. Nothing is greater than God’s plan. God’s purpose and plan for you is greater than your suffering.”

I don’t like trials or difficulties or dealing with hard situations. Yet, what other way is there to mature? To finally grow up is to take responsibility for your choices. However, to take it all further into wisdom and maturity is to trust the Lord in every situation, no matter how easy or how difficult. To become mature and wise is to trust God, to hear from Him, to obey Him no matter what. There is a peace that passes all understanding. Worry can be conquered by the Prince of Peace.

You can’t overcome faults, failings, or difficult circumstances you refuse to face. Jesus wants you to overcome. In fact, He’s called you an overcomer! He’ll bring opportunity to you.

Job 23:10 “But he knoweth the way that I take: when he hath tried me, I shall come forth as gold.”

1 John 4:4 “Ye are of God, little children, and have overcome them: because greater is he that is in you, than he that is in the world.”

Pastor says, “The world will put you through tribulation. There is no such thing as a pain-free marriage. There is no such thing as a pain-free walk with God, no such thing as a tribulation-free relationship with Jesus. It’s how you respond to that situation.”

Zach 13:9 “And I will bring the third part through the fire, and will refine them as silver is refined, and will try them as gold is tried: they shall call on my name, and I will hear them: I will say, It is my people: and they shall say, The Lord is my God.”

Micah 7:8 “Rejoice not against me, O mine enemy: when I fall, I shall arise; when I sit in darkness, the Lord shall be a light unto me.”

There’s something about you, it’s what (or WHO) is in you!

Pastor says, “When you put a ball in the water, it won’t stay down under the water. It’s not the ball, it’s the air inside. You can’t keep a righteous man, full of the Holy Ghost, down! Greater is He that is in me than he that is in the world!”

Excerpted from a sermon preached by Pastor Anthony LoCascio.

For the full YouTube audio/video, click here.

If you are looking for an Apostolic Pentecostal church and are in the Chicagoland area, come check out The Life Church located at 3030 Central Road in Glenview, IL. Services are Sundays at 1pm and Wednesdays at 7pm. We would love to see you there!

www.thelifechurchofglenview.org

About ChristinaLi

Writing inspirational romantic suspense splashed with humor. Married for over 20 years and mom to five amazing kids, she is happily addicted to morning coffee and afternoon tea. Free for you: Violet Miracle, a Little Bit of Coffee, Flowers, and Romance Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Violet-Miracle-Little-Flowers-Romance-ebook/dp/B008EMBZGY/ref=la_B004EL7842_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1504197523&sr=1-2 Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/529287
This entry was posted in Excerpts from Sermons by Pastor Anthony LoCascio and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Perception in the Storm

  1. ChristinaLi says:

    Reblogged this on Christina Li Books and commented:

    This really challenged me. Faith is the currency of heaven. It’s the only thing that pleases God. I have to ask myself sometimes, how much do I really trust Him?

Leave a Reply

