Do Hard Things

BibleQuizzingIt IS hard for a family to commit to a program that lasts 6+ months. I get it. I know. Bought the t-shirt. Several t-shirts, actually.
 
But, have you read the book Do Hard Things? Basically, it’s a Christian book about a set of twins (Alex & Brett Harris) challenging other kids to do hard things (for God and the Kingdom of God). The only way to truly grow is by doing hard things.
 
They talk about five kinds of hard.
 
1. Things that are outside your comfort zone.
2. Things that go beyond what is expected or required.
3. Things that are too big to accomplish alone.
4. Things that don’t earn an immediate payoff.
5. Things that challenge the cultural norm.
I think Bible Quizzing falls in ALL these categories, don’t you?
 
Five ways we fail to do the hard things (mentioned in the book):
1) Procrastination, 2) Inconsistency, 3) Compromise, 4) Begrudging, 5) Cheating
1, 2, and 4 definitely describe my days as a former quizzer, a current coach, and a current quiz mom! Yet, there is something that rises up within me that says, “I WILL do hard things for myself and my family. I WILL grow in my faith. I’m not satisfied with where I am.”
 
Looking at this list of 5 kinds of hard, I thought to myself, “I wonder if these topics are addressed in our study of Proverbs (I Kings, and Ecclesiastes) this year?” Thus my search began into the wee hours of the morning…
 
1. Things that are outside your comfort zone. (getting outside of YOUR normal)
Prov 3:5-6 Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.
Prov 14:12; ~16:25 There is a way which (that) seemeth right unto a man, but the end thereof are the ways of death.,
 
2. Things that go beyond what is expected or required.
Prov 15:25 The heart of the righteous studieth to answer: but the mouth of the wicked poureth out evil things.,
Prov 31 whole chapter!
Ecc 9:10 Whatsoever thy hand findeth to do, do it with thy might; for there is no work, nor device, nor knowledge, nor wisdom, in the grave, whither thou goest.
 
3. Things that are too big to accomplish alone.
Prov 1:8 My son, hear the instruction of thy father, and forsake not the law of thy mother:
Prov 11:14 Where no counsel is, the people fall: but in the multitude of counsellors there is safety
Prov 13:20 He that walketh with wise men shall be wise: but a companion of fools shall be destroyed.
Prov 18:10  The name of the Lord is a strong tower: the righteous runneth into it, and is safe.
Prov 27:9 Ointment and perfume rejoice the heart: so doth the sweetness of a man’s friend by hearty counsel.
Prov 27:17 Iron sharpeneth iron; so a man sharpeneth the countenance of his friend.
Ecc 4:9-10 Two are better than one; because they have a good reward for their labour. For if they fall, the one will lift up his fellow: but woe to him that is alone when he falleth; for he hath not another to help him up.
 
4. Things that don’t earn an immediate payoff.
Prov 2:7 He layeth up sound wisdom for the righteous: he is a buckler to them that walk uprightly.
Prov 3:2 For length of days, and long life, and peace, shall they add to thee.
Prov 4:10 Hear, O my son, and receive my sayings; and the years of thy life shall be many.
Prov 19:20 Hear counsel, and receive instruction, that thou mayest be wise in thy latter end.
 
5. Things that challenge the cultural norm.
Prov 4:14-15 Enter not into the path of the wicked, and go not in the way of evil men. Avoid it, pass not by it, turn from it, and pass away
Prov 6:9 How long wilt thou sleep, O sluggard? when wilt thou arise out of thy sleep?
Prov 16:9 A man’s heart deviseth his way: but the Lord directeth his steps.
Prov 19:27 Cease, my son, to hear the instruction that causeth to err from the words of knowledge.
Yes! Proverbs does address these 5 things! (I’m sure there were more, but my mind doesn’t fully function in the middle of the night. Therefore, my responses were limited in direct proportion to my limited mental capacity that night).
 
It’s hard. There are a MILLION things to do at home, school, and CHURCH in addition to Bible Quizzing, but I know I must obey the Word of God, and LEARN the Word of God with my family.
I must DO HARD THINGS. Doing hard things is the only way to truly grow in our spiritual lives.
 
One final thought: The GAME of Bible Quizzing is NOT a priority in our home. Consistently studying and learning the Word of God, IS. And this, my friend, is the reason why Bible Quizzing is NOT so HARD after all.

 

–Rani Nolan, Bible Quiz Coordinator for The Life Church.

If you are in the Chicagoland area, come to The Life Church located at 3030 Central Road in Glenview, IL. Services are Sundays at 1pm and Wednesdays at 7pm.

www.thelifechurchofdesplaines.com

About ChristinaLi

Christina Li, BA, MA, is a wife, mother of five, journalist, and author. She believes life is an adventure and has seen first hand the miraculous that happens when you say 'yes' to God. Besides writing, she loves tea, black, green, or white, and coffee, fresh roasted by her wonderful husband. Check out her books at: amazon.com/author/christinali
This entry was posted in Bible Quizzing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

