I Am Still Here!

Josh 14:6-12 “Then the children of Judah came unto Joshua in Gilgal: and Caleb the son of Jephunneh the Kenezite said unto him, Thou knowest the thing that the LORD said unto Moses the man of God concerning me and thee in Kadeshbarnea. Forty years old was I when Moses the servant of the LORD sent me from Kadeshbarnea to espy out the land; and I brought him word again as it was in mine heart. Nevertheless my brethren that went up with me made the heart of the people melt: but I wholly followed the LORD my God. And Moses sware on that day, saying, Surely the land whereon thy feet have trodden shall be thine inheritance, and thy children’s for ever, because thou hast wholly followed the LORD my God. And now, behold, the LORD hath kept me alive, as he said, these forty and five years, even since the LORD spake this word unto Moses, while the children of Israel wandered in the wilderness: and now, lo, I am this day fourscore and five years old. As yet I am as strong this day as I was in the day that Moses sent me: as my strength was then, even so is my strength now, for war, both to go out, and to come in. Now therefore give me this mountain, whereof the LORD spake in that day; for thou heardest in that day how the Anakims were there, and that the cities were great and fenced: if so be the LORD will be with me, then I shall be able to drive them out, as the LORD said.”

Eph 3:16 “That he would grant you, according to the riches of his glory, to be strengthened with might by his Spirit in the inner man;”

God had given a promise to Caleb through Moses. There were giants still there, but Caleb knew that his God was greater than giants. There is only one God and nothing can stop God from giving me what He wants to give me. Intestinal fortitude, I can, when everything else says I can’t.

Bethany Hamilton was on her way to become a professional surfer. By the time she was 13, she had suffered an attack by a 14 foot tiger shark. She had her arm torn off (her left arm). Somehow, she survived. Within months, she was back on her surfboard. The last time she was in the water, a tiger bit off her arm! Yet, within months, she was back to pursuing her dream. She won three different contests since her accident. She continues to inspire.

Has life left you feeling chewed up? There was something in Bethany Hamilton that is in me today that says, ‘I am well able.’

The demand I felt upon me seemed impossible with what I had. I went to prayer and explained that I couldn’t do it. I told the Lord, ‘If You would remove those limitations from me, I could do what You asked me.’ I said, ‘God, my hands are tied.’ Then, the Lord spoke back. Usually, when He speaks to me, I’m encouraged. This time, He simply said, ‘Minister with your feet.’

Phil 4:13 “I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.”

I am well able to accomplish any task that the Lord has asked me to do. Even if it doesn’t look like it, I am still here! 

The lions had the promise of a good meal in the morning and meanwhile provided a nice warm pillow for God’s man. What the devil tried to do to David didn’t work. He was still here!

We’re still here!

God gets the last laugh—always! 

The last word for the church is VICTORY. There is no chance for the devil to snuff me out. We are on God’s team. The devil can’t win.

It doesn’t matter what Satan did to Him, Jesus was still here! Satan sent the pharisees and priests after Him, but that didn’t work; He was on the scourging post, but He didn’t die; He was on the cross, but He didn’t stay dead.

Israel was growing in the days of Moses for 400 years. Pharaoh was cunning and put them into slavery in order to keep them from overpowering the Egyptians. What started out as a celebration of survival and life ended in slavery. The only economic force that Egypt had was the slave labor of the Jewish people. The more the Jews were persecuted, the more they grew! 

Be the same. Come what may, I shall not be moved! We don’t give place to the devil. When you’ve done all, stand! I’m still here.

Haman tried to kill Mordecai. That place of death became Haman’s place of death. Mordecai said, ‘I’m still here!’

Get that same resolve in you! We’ve got an issue in our hands in this hour. The culture we are surrounded by is more concerned about getting to heaven than about how to get there. They are looking for the easy road to get the prize without the work. They want victory with no battle. Nobody is concerned about discipleship. They just want heaven. If I worry about pleasing the Lord and knowing Him, I’ll get to heaven. I am not looking at the rules and doing the bare minimum. I want to hear ‘Well done,’ then I need to do well. We need this kind of resolve.

Our boat might sink, but there will be a floating piece of wood. Sink or swim, I will serve the Lord. The price of salvation is NOT free. Jesus paid the bill! Now that you have salvation, you have to take care of it. Just like if you are given a nice suit, you bring it home and still have to take care of it.

Isaiah 54:17 “No weapon that is formed against thee shall prosper; and every tongue [that] shall rise against thee in judgement thou shalt condemn. This [is] the heritage of the servants of the Lord, and their righteousness [is] of me, saith the Lord.”

Anything that comes against you shall not prosper! When the devil comes to fight you, you can say, ‘You won’t win. I will win. I’m still here.’ Christianity is more about reactions than actions. How will you act in situations that try you? You haven’t had victories until you have a test. You can’t get a healing until you have sickness. You don’t have the opportunity to be a Christian until you’ve been punched in the gut. It’s the pressure and your reaction to it that defines your Christianity.

When a ball filled with air is pushed down under the water, it will shoot up and float. When Satan comes against you, and you’re filled with God’s Spirit, you will shoot right up!

When you get your resolve, you can throw your shoulders back and say, ‘Live or die, sink or swim, I will dwell in the house forever.’ Things are not always as they appear. What looks like a mess is really a miracle in the making. Disaster precedes Deliverance. I’M STILL HERE!

Our greatest challenges in 2014 are not financial. Shift your prayer life around if that’s what your focus is on. It’s also not physical. It’s not dealing with health. It’s not dealing with relationships or other people.

Our biggest challenge is dealing with the ATTITUDE of the HEART and how you handle life. It is the issues of the heart that will show where you need to grow and develop in maturity in Jesus. We need to handle those challenges with ‘I am still here!’ I have the Holy Ghost in me. Give me this mountain.

Delay is not defeat. You don’t have the right to pout. Pouting is just another way to be negative, complaining or murmuring. Don’t do this. Complaining is saying, ‘I can do a better job than God.’ That is dangerous, a recipe for disaster. Just say, ‘God, I will take whatever you give me and trust You and Your ways and Your timing.’

In the face of a storm, say, ‘I’m still here!’ 

Don’t blame God for the decisions you’ve made in the flesh.

God has ordained pastors and leaders for the perfecting of the saints. Having an attitude of, ‘God, speak to me through the ministry,’ will keep you in the tough times.

Have a ‘give me this mountain’ in the midst of giants. Don’t let giants talk. Talk to them instead and glorify God. David ran down to fight Goliath. Only one man would come out alive, but he was on the right team. He knew he would be coming out of that valley. He could trash talk all he wanted.

If we have an ‘I’m still here’ attitude, God can use that! 

Excerpted from a sermon preached by: Pastor Anthony LoCascio

If you are in the Chicagoland area, come to The Life Church located at 3030 Central Road in Glenview, IL. Services are Sundays at 1pm and Wednesdays at 7pm.

www.thelifechurchofdesplaines.com

About ChristinaLi

Christina Li, BA, MA, is a wife, mother of five, journalist, and author. She believes life is an adventure and has seen first hand the miraculous that happens when you say 'yes' to God. Besides writing, she loves tea, black, green, or white, and coffee, fresh roasted by her wonderful husband. Check out her books at: amazon.com/author/christinali
This entry was posted in Excerpts from Sermons by Pastor Anthony LoCascio and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

