Rest for the Weary

Mat 11:27 “All things are delivered unto me of my Father: and no man knoweth the Son, but the Father; neither knoweth any man the Father, save the Son, and he to whomsoever the Son will reveal him.”

Jesus is seeking us still.

Mat 11:28-30 “Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”

Jesus is waiting for hearts to open. Then, He will give you revelation. He gives rest to the weary and comfort. Jesus understands all the brokenness and tragedy people ever experience. Jesus knows the woes and trials and struggles and is waiting for you to say, ‘Help me!’

Pride keeps us from receiving the comfort that we so desperately need. We’re so used to just doing it right ourselves that we only pursue God when we fail. Then, we pursue Him all puny. We walk around saying, ‘I got this, Lord.’ Jesus pulls away because that’s not what He’s looking for. The problem is we only get to that place of humility when stuff comes against us and we can’t do it alone anymore.

There’s two ways of being humbled: humble yourself or an outside force causes you to be humbled. The first is a lot better. You don’t have to be humbled in public. You can do it in private. But, if you don’t, you’ll get humbled publicly. He is not a terrible God, but you need to admit you need Him.

Jesus was walking on the water and would have passed them by, but they cried out for Him. A bunch of times in Judges the Israelites served other gods and then they ended up as slaves. They would cry out to Him and He’d deliver them. Then, they’d go off again. God raised up judges to cause people to see and return to God. Jesus made Himself available on water. But, He will walk by if you don’t call out to Him. Blind Bartemeus would still be blind if he hadn’t cried out to Jesus. The disciples tried to quiet him, but he refused. We have got to get the attitude that we won’t be held back from Jesus.

Sometimes we need to lay flat on our faces and say, ‘Jesus!!! HELP!!!!’ If you don’t cry out to Him, you’ll go home the same way you came. There is nothing wrong with coming to an altar with no other object but spending time with Him. We’ve got to have hunger. Make me hungry!

Pursue after Jesus and let Him take care of the miracles. I want Your healing in my life. Bring my body to Jesus. Bring my everything to Him. I want to learn of Him. I do not want to wander away. He is a Good Shepherd.

Psalm 23:1-6 “The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want. He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters. He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake. Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me. Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over. Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the LORD for ever.”

Jesus leads us to quiet places where we don’t have to worry about predators. He doesn’t want us to be humiliated or blind or sick. We serve a God who owns the cattle on a thousand hills. He wants to bless you. He leads us in the path of righteousness for His name’s sake. We serve a Shepherd that’s good. He wants to give rest to your soul. He wants to better you. He takes better of you than your parents can.

What David is saying is God’s reputation is on the line. The way He gets known is by the way His people look to the world. He doesn’t want His people to be miserable. In heaven there will be wealthy people. God doesn’t want to keep you broke and poor and sick. He wants to bless you, but you have to humble yourself. When all you want is blessings, He’s going to humble you. But, if all you want is Him, the blessings will follow. He wants to restore your soul. Come unto Him and allow Him to lead you to the restoration place. There is rest for the weary.

There is something about a body that hasn’t enough sleep that is just like the spirit that hasn’t had enough of God for a long time. You need a gully wash, all you can do is weep and feel how close He is to you. He leads me in the path of righteousness because He wants His reputation to be known and He wants us to be blessed.

God is our father and it is His good pleasure to give us the kingdom. He’s got blessings in His pocket, healing for body, the mind and He’ll hand it out to anybody with their hands out. It’s not about following Him for the hand-outs.

Excerpted from a sermon preached by: Pastor Anthony LoCascio.

If you are in the Chicagoland area, come to The Life Church located at 3030 Central Road in Glenview, IL. Services are Sundays at 1pm and Wednesdays at 7pm.

www.thelifechurchofdesplaines.com

About ChristinaLi

Christina Li, BA, MA, is a wife, mother of five, journalist, and author. She believes life is an adventure and has seen first hand the miraculous that happens when you say 'yes' to God. Besides writing, she loves tea, black, green, or white, and coffee, fresh roasted by her wonderful husband. Check out her books at: amazon.com/author/christinali
This entry was posted in Excerpts from Sermons by Pastor Anthony LoCascio and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rest for the Weary

  1. Pingback: Provision | Quality of Life Ministries

Leave a Reply

