What is Real Faith? (Part 1)

faith

faith (Photo credit: williamaturner)

John 2:23-25 “Now when he was in Jerusalem at the passover, in the feast day, many believed in his name, when they saw the miracles which he did. But Jesus did not commit himself unto them, because he knew all men, And needed not that any should testify of man: for he knew what was in man.”

James 2:19 “Thou believest that there is one God; thou doest well: the devils also believe, and tremble.”

James is dealing with insufficient faith. Jesus knows the hearts and minds of man. Jesus’ mind was not confined like we are. Jesus doesn’t need to ask people and learn about them, because He already knows. That is both scary and comforting.

T.W. Barnes was a prophet of God. He appeared to be just a simple country guy, but there were things that God revealed to him. It was unnerving. It was called ‘reading your mail’. There were some people in the crowd that were nervous and others were hopeful. The Word of God and the ways of God has a way of knowing us better than we know ourselves.

We are ‘cop-out’ artists. We put on a show of faith. We try to justify whatever else is going on inside of us and we demonstrate our ‘faith’, but God isn’t fooled. We think God is up there with the preacher or the singer, but He’s also right there with you. God doesn’t have to read your body language to know what’s going on.

Real faith is what is needed in your life. You might be able to fool your pastor, but you will never fool God. You’re doing all right because you believe in one God, but the devils also believe. In fact, the devils might believe more, because they tremble.

‘The just shall live by faith,’ Hebrew 10:38. Only believe in the Lord Jesus Christ and thou shalt be saved. This is a whole different level of faith. This is different from believing that Abraham Lincoln lived a long time ago.

John 12:42-43 “Nevertheless among the chief rulers also many believed on him; but because of the Pharisees they did not confess him, lest they should be put out of the synagogue: For they loved the praise of men more than the praise of God.”

Their faith never changed them. They were cowards. When it was safe to act like a believer, they did. They were worried that their life style and their new faith that they had found. So, they did not do something in response to their faith. That is not the kind of faith that heals and saves.

John 12:44-48 “Jesus cried and said, He that believeth on me, believeth not on me, but on him that sent me. And he that seeth me seeth him that sent me. I am come a light into the world, that whosoever believeth on me should not abide in darkness. And if any man hear my words, and believe not, I judge him not: for I came not to judge the world, but to save the world. He that rejecteth me, and receiveth not my words, hath one that judgeth him: the word that I have spoken, the same shall judge him in the last day.”

Jesus was on a mission.

John 12:49 “For I have not spoken of myself; but the Father which sent me, he gave me a commandment, what I should say, and what I should speak.”

You don’t get points for only talking the talk. You must walk the walk.

John 12:50 “And I know that his commandment is life everlasting: whatsoever I speak therefore, even as the Father said unto me, so I speak.”

Receiving Him equals life-style faith. There are people who are ashamed of Jesus because they are afraid of what other people will think.

My opinion of you and $2 will get you a latte at Starbucks. That’s about all my opinion is worth. God’s opinion saves your soul.

If you are in the Chicagoland area, come to The Life Church located at 3030 Central Road in Glenview, IL. Services are Sundays at 1pm and Wednesdays at 7pm.

www.thelifechurchofdesplaines.com

Excerpted from a sermon preached by: Pastor Anthony LoCascio.

About ChristinaLi

Christina Li, BA, MA, is a wife, mother of five, journalist, and author. She believes life is an adventure and has seen first hand the miraculous that happens when you say 'yes' to God. Besides writing, she loves tea, black, green, or white, and coffee, fresh roasted by her wonderful husband. Check out her books at: amazon.com/author/christinali
This entry was posted in Excerpts from Sermons by Pastor Anthony LoCascio and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What is Real Faith? (Part 1)

  1. Pingback: What is Real Faith? (Part 2) | The Life Church of Des Plaines

Leave a Reply

